Time was officially over when the wrestler ran to his coach but did the official conclusion of the match occur? Does rule 6-5.1 and 6-5.2 apply? Wrestlers are to return to the center of the mat. The official had not confirmed the final score nor declared the final winner. The hand was not raised either.
It is clear the wrestler left the circle before those two things happened. So does the rule 5-27-1d apply which states a technical violation is given for leaving the wrestling area without the referee's permission?
We see celebrations happen like this all the time and this is the first time I've ever seen it called like this. It would certainly be in the best interest of all coaches and wrestlers to get official clarification of the application of these rules from the official's association or from WIAA at a minimum.
Crazy turn of events for all involved!!
« Back to index | View thread »