Washington Wrestling Message Board
[ Post a Response | Washington Wrestling Message Board ]
Re: Slam vs illegal menouver.
Posted by Dave G on 2/14/2018, 7:54 am, in reply to "Re: Slam vs illegal menouver."
I understand, which is why I don't like to have to call them, but rules are rules. These were obvious (to me) and there were no complaints by the coaches at all. I think they were just happy that their wrestler didn't end up DQ'd as it would be easy for someone to really be too hurt to continue or also easy to just take the win. Remember, being able to continue after a slam is different than being able to continue at 100%. That certainly is not fair to the injured party to continue wrestling at less than 100% because of something his opponent did. I say, just avoid it by taking your opponent down legally/safely. It is the same thing with a forceful trip that takes the kids head to the ground first. NOT a smart thing to do. Or winding up on a cross-face and basically giving him a forearm punch. NOT a smart thing to do. You have to wrestle smart.
As to your comment about the wrestlers and coaches at our regional; yes, they were an exemplary group. As to judgment, that is just a part of all sports. The only way to remove judgment is to just play computer games. I used to always tell my son to be TWO scores ahead of the ref. That way, if you got an unfavorable call you could still win. I know it is easier said than done. JMHO