Such an awesome game!!! For a while, it was UP 5, everyone else zero. Felt bad for Christine Sinclair, who carried Canada on her back with three goals, but Megan Rapinoe (two goals) and Team USA weren't going to be denied.
Best part? Brandi Chastain (a Santa Clara grad) being forced to congratulate UP and how awesome all the Pilot players in the game were!
Yep, he really was something special. Check out this video of Christine Sinclair, talking about who has made the biggest impact in her life:
I've heard so many stories similar Christine's from so many of his former players... it's just one of those things where you can tell that everyone is truly genuine about how much he meant to them - not just as a coach, but as a person.
A fun Clive story... he was just a local high school coach when he interviewed for the head coaching job at UP in the 80s. Soccer was never a big deal on The Bluff (they just played in a quad, basically), and no one really cared about it. During his interview, he told Joe Etzel (UP' AD) that if he became head coach he would take the Pilots to the Final Four within three years. Joe just laughed, but liked his confidence and hired him. Exactly three years later, UP went 21-0 and, behind brilliant freshman keeper Kasey Keller, mowed down countless soccer powerhouses en route to UP's first final four. Pretty amazing.
He really is a (if not THE) primary source of the soccer culture in Portland, from UP leading the nation in attendance for years and years, to the huge numbers of youth soccer players (he founded FC Portland, the largest youth soccer club) and the incredible fan support for the Portland Timbers (which he played for, and whose "ultra" culture has roots in the UP student section).
And it goes even deeper than that. Because both Nike and Adidas are headquarted in Portland, there are dozens of former UP players/soccer staff working in the soccer departments of those companies. At one point a few years ago (not sure if this is still true or not), I think every person working for the Adidas North American soccer division was a Pilot.
I was not impressed by her whining about the officiating and accusing the refs of predetermining the match. I watched a good chunk of the match back on my DVR and thought her claims were without merit. The Canadians were clearly using delay tactics at the end of regulation and were even warned before the call on the goalie. Also, that was definitely a handball, despite the protestations from the defender. Sorry, Canuck: the better team won.
Posted by Purple Pride on 8/8/2012, 11:33 am, in reply to "Sinclair"
Yeah... sour grapes are never popular. Sinclair has ALWAYS been very quiet and humble when it comes to talking with the press, so it was very unusal for her to say something like that.
To be honest, I think more than anything it was about her being so fiercely determined to win the game and her doing pretty much everything humanly possible to do exactly that. It would have been the biggest moment in Canadian soccer history (men or women), and against the team that they have never been able to beat - not even once - in something like ten years.
It was the product of the disappointment of going ahread three times throughout the course of the game, only to lose it on a fluky corner kick goal (which she was *this* close to stopping) and back-to-back questionable (not saying wrong, but controversial at least) calls.
I think the main complaint about the handball wasn't so much that it hit her hand (it did), but that the exact same thing happened about 15 minutes earlier when the ball hit the hand of a US defender in the penalty box (Megan Rapinoe, in fact) and no call was made. The rules are a bit fuzzy, but generally handballs in the box are called for a PK only if they are a) intentional or b) the hand is clearly away from the body. I think the ref made the right call on Rapinoe's handball, but it definitely could have gone either way on the Canadian one.
Anyway, I agree with you - the better team won.
That has never been a handball
Posted by Oly on 8/8/2012, 9:06 pm, in reply to "Re: Sinclair"
Not a handball whatsoever. It was unintentional, the hand was against the body, and the ball was in close range. 0 for 3. That has never been a handball in history of soccer.
The handball is one of the most misunderstood rules in the world of international football. According to FIFA Law 12, a player (other than the goalkeeper within his own penalty area) may not handle the ball deliberately. The FIFA Interpretation of the Laws of the Game states that handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with his hand or arm. This is the official definition of the handball infraction. Now we can break it down.
Was it deliberate?
This is where the handball rule gets misinterpreted. For a handball infraction to be called, a player must deliberately handle the ball with their hand or arm. A referee must determine if the player intentionally handled the ball. Nowhere in the FIFA Laws of the Game does it state that an unintentional handling of the ball is an infraction. So if a player has their back turned to a crossed ball that hits their hand, there is good reason to believe that it is not a handball. Even if a player gains an advantage after touching the ball with their hand, it is not a handball if the handling was unintentional.
The interpretation of FIFA Law 12 tells referees to consider a few things when determining handball infractions. First, the movement of the hand is considered. If the hand moved to the ball, then the handling of the ball is most likely intentional. But if the ball moved to the hand, it may not be intentional. Second, the distance of the player to the ball is considered. A handball that occurred from a ball played close is unexpected and most likely unintentional. But when a ball is played from far away, a player has time to anticipate the ball and avoid handling it with their arm or hand. Finally, the position of the hand is considered. Touching the ball with an arm that is hanging away from the body is not necessarily an infraction. Once again, the handling of the ball must be intentional.